State Honor For HBW ‘Dream Team’

By on May 29, 2012

On Saturday, May 12,  H.B. Whitehorne‘s Dream Team was presented with the governor’s Jefferson Award for Public Service at the Newark Museum.

The New Jersey Youth Service Awards recognize the achievements of young people who demonstrate outstanding service in their communities. The Jefferson Awards were co-founded in 1972 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, then U.S. Senator Robert Taft Jr. and Sam Beard as something of a Nobel Prize for public service. The Jefferson Awards’ central tenet is that each and every citizen shares a responsibility to work towards the betterment of their communities through economic participation, public service, volunteerism and other efforts to improve life for all.

Debbie Marsano and Meredith Bielen, both teachers at HBW, serve as advisors to the Dream Team, whose activities are funded by the Verona Municipal Alliance Committee .

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Before you comment, read our Comments Policy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get News Updates By Email